•                   band

     

    Vance County Schools

    Welcomes Homeschool Families

     

    Vance County Schools recognizes that families have many educational choices available for their children. Our goal is to create the best possible educational choice for all Vance County children and families. One of the greatest attributes of the Vance County community is our commitment to collaborating to identify ways to support our children and improve our quality of life. Our schools offer a variety of programs and services we believe can benefit homeschool students. We encourage you to consider participating in the variety of classes and opportunities offered on our campuses.

     

    Anyone interested in learning more about the educational opportunities in Vance County Schools may contact Dr. Anthony D. Jackson, superintendent. He can be reached by phone at 252-492-2127 or by email at ajackson@vcs.k12.nc.us. For additional information, you may also contact Dr. Trixie Brooks, assistant superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, at 252-492-2127 or tbrooks@vcs.k12.nc.us and Dr. Cindy Bennett, assistant superintendent for Student Support Services and Strategic Planning at 252-492-2127 or cbennett@vcs.k12.nc.us.

                  

     

    proud

     

     

    Opportunities For Homeschoolers

     

    • Academically and Intellectually Gifted (AIG) classes at the elementary, middle and high school levels
    • Music and art classes at the elementary, middle and high school levels
    • Special after school activities in elementary schools such as Girls on the Run, STRIDE, Boy and Girl Scouts and JOY Club
    • Project-based learning for students in grades 6-8 at the STEM Early High School
    • Band instruction at the middle school and high school levels
    • Virtual classes at the middle and high school levels
    • Math Club, Science Club, Spanish Club, Key Club, 4-H Robotics Club and more at the high school level
    • Specialized Career and Technical Education classes, such as Junior ROTC
    • Dual enrollment at Vance-Granville Community College at the high school level
    • Vance Medical Academy
    • Fire & Public Safety Academy

     

     

    Contact Information for Schools

     

    Aycock Elementary School

    305 Carey Chapel Road, Henderson

    252-492-1516 Principal: Kristen Boyd

    krboyd@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Carver Elementary School

    987 Carver School Road, Henderson

    252-438-6955 Principal: David Westbrook

    dwestbrook@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Clarke Elementary School

    309 Mt. Carmel Church Rd., Henderson

    252-438-8415 Principal: Crystal Richardson

    cryrichardson@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Dabney Elementary School

    150 Lanning Road, Henderson

    252-438-6918 Principal: Michael Putney

    mputney@vcs.k12.nc.us

    New Hope Elementary School

    10199 NC 39 Hwy. North, Henderson

    252-438-6549 Principal: Harold Thompson

    hthompson@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Pinkston Street Elementary School

    855 Adams Street, Henderson

    252-438-3441 Principal: Heddie Somerville

    hsomerville@vcs.k12.nc.us

    E.M. Rollins Elementary School

    1600 South Garnett Street, Henderson

    252-438-2189 Principal: Stephanie Alston

    salston@vcs.k12.nc.us

    L.B. Yancey Elementary School

    311 Hawkins Drive, Henderson

    252-438-8336 Principal: Carnetta Thomas

    cathomas@vcs.k12.nc.us

    E.O. Young Jr. Elementary School

    6655 Broad Street, Middleburg

    252-438-6423 Principal: Marylaura McKoon

    mmckoon@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Zeb Vance Elementary School

    4800 Raleigh Road, Kittrell

    252-438-8492 Principal: Kristian Herring

    kherring@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Eaton-Johnson Middle School

    500 North Beckford Drive, Henderson

    252-438-5017 Principal: Travis Taylor

    trtaylor@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Henderson Middle School

    219 Charles Street, Henderson

    252-492-0054 Principal: John Hargrove

    jhargrove@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Vance County STEM Early High School

    925 Garrett Road, Henderson

    252-738-2260 Principal: Iris Dethmers

    idethmers@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Northern Vance High School

    293 Warrenton Road, Henderson

    252-492-6041 Principal: Andrew Markoch

    amarkoch@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Southern Vance High School

    925 Garrett Road, Henderson

    252-430-6000 Principal: Rey Horner

    rhorner@vcs.k12.nc.us

    Vance County Early College High School

    P.O. Box 917, VGCC, Henderson

    252-738-3580 Principal: Debbie Hite

    dhite@vcs.k12.nc.us

    AdVance Academy 

    219 Charles Street, Henderson

    252-438-8407 Principal: Stephanie Ayscue

    sayscue@vcs.k12.nc.us