Return to Headlines

Board Honors Student Spotlight Winners


The first eight winners of the Student Spotlight awards for this year were

honored at the Vance County Board of Education meeting. They include, from

left holding their framed certificates, Anderson Boyd, Marisol Hernandez,

Ruby Zuniga Trejo, Andrew Chiem, Roland Chavez Galindo, Randy Palacios

and Nashanti Richardson.


The Vance County Board of Education at its regular monthly meeting recognized the first eight Student Spotlight award winners for the 2018-2019 school year.


Nancy Wykle, publisher of The Daily Dispatch, which partners with the school system and other community supporters on the student recognition program, led the presentation at the board meeting. Wykle presented framed certificates to each of the award recipients. Superintendent Anthony Jackson and Board Chairwoman Dorothy Gooche congratulated each of the students.


Those students recognized included: Marisol Hernandez of E.M. Rollins Elementary School; Nashanti Richardson of Early College High School; Roland Chavez Galindo of Carver Elementary School; Randy Palacios of AdVance Academy; Ruby Zuniga Trejo of STEM Early High School; Andrew Chiem of Dabney Elementary School; and Anderson Boyd of Aycock Elementary School. Chloe Hightower of Clarke Elementary School, also was recognized but was unable to attend the meeting.


The Student Spotlight awards are presented to a deserving student throughout the school year from each of our 15 schools. The students can be nominated by teachers, school administrators, other staff members and fellow students. Award winners have strong academics, but are mostly recognized based on their outstanding character, which includes their compassion and caring for others, positive support of their teachers and classmates and willingness to help in their school and community.


The remaining seven Student Spotlight recipients to be honored this school year will be recognized at the May board meeting.