Return to Headlines

Board Recognizes Student Spotlight Winners


Student Spotlight award winners hold their certificates at the board meeting.

The include above from left: Kori Barlow-Robinson, Kimberly Flores Maus,

Kayce Yancey, Harold Timberlake IV, Toussaint Grant and Xavier Wilson.

With them are Dorothy Gooche, board chairwoman, far left, and Desiree

Brooks of The Daily Dispatch, with Superintendent Anthony Jackson, both

at far right.


peoples     Courtney Peoples is shown holding her Student Spotlight certificate.


The Vance County Board of Education recognized the outstanding efforts of eight Student Spotlight award winners who received the honor for their respective schools for the 2018-2019 school year based on their exemplary character and respect and caring for fellow students and educators.


Those students recognized were Harold Timberlake, IV, of Vance County Middle School; Kayce Yancey of New Hope Elementary School; Xavier Wilson of Vance County High School; Kori Barlow-Robinson of E.O. Young, Jr. Elementary School; Courtney Peoples of Zeb Vance Elementary School; Kimberly Flores Maus of Pinkston Street Elementary School; Toussaint Grant of LB. Yancey Elementary School; and Jordan Hargrove of the Empowerment Academy.


Each of the students was presented a framed certificate for their award by Desiree Brooks of The Daily Dispatch, which leads the student recognition program. Other sponsors for the Student Spotlight program are Vance County Schools, the Vance County Public School Foundation, Mako Medical Laboratories, Maria Parham Health and Prim Development and Residential Rentals.


Jordan Hargrove could not attend the board meeting and was unavailable for the photos.