Return to Headlines

VCS Educators Selected for Opportunity Culture Fellows Program


Vance County Board of Education Chairwoman Dorothy Gooche, far left,

and Superintendent Anthony Jackson, far right, congratulated the

four local educators who are part of the national Opportunity

Culture Fellows Program. They include, from left, Amber Hines, 

Casey Jackson, Cherie Dixon and Kristen Boyd.



Four local educators who are cohorts with the nationwide Opportunity Culture Fellows Program were recognized at the Vance County Board of Education meeting on June 10, 2019.


The educators  include Amber Hines of Zeb Vance Elementary School, Cherie Dixon of L.B. Yancey Elementary School and Casey Jackson of Aycock Elementary School, all multi-classroom leaders, and Kristen Boyd, principal of Aycock Elementary School.


Hines was honored as an Opportunity Culture Fellow for the current school year. Dixon, Jackson and Boyd are new cohort members for 2019-2020. They are among 15 fellows from across the nation who are Opportunity Culture multi-classroom leaders and principals and have achieved strong results and been leaders in their schools and districts.


Fellows provide support to their cohort, take one another’s ideas back to their schools, write columns about their experiences and speak locally and nationally about their Opportunity Culture roles. Their feedback and leadership are invaluable in helping to improve the Opportunity Culture initiative, and all materials related to it.