Return to Headlines

Excellence in Education Recipients

September 23, 2020


Vance County Schools held the annual Excellence in Education event on Tuesday, September 22. Each year, the event is held to honor the Beginning Teacher of the Year as well as the Teacher of the Year for each school in the district. At the event, the District’s Beginning Teacher of the Year, Teacher of the Year, Assistant Principal of the Year and Principal of the Year are announced. The event was a drive-in recognition at the VCS Administrative Service Center on Graham Avenue, where staff were presented their award in an outdoor ceremony, with social distancing in place and masks required. 

Dr. Anthony Jackson, VCS Superintendent, along with Assistant Superintendents Dr. Trixie Brooks and Dr. Cindy Bennett, recognized each of our honorees. The district is pleased to announce the district award winners:

 Assistant Principal of the Year

Ap of the Year

The 2020-2021 Assistant Principal of the Year is Mrs. Shannon Bullock. Mrs. Bullock is the assistant principal of Vance County Middle School and in her 9th year in education, spending every year with Vance County Schools. A native of Henderson, Mrs. Bullock shares, “It is with great humility that I serve the families of our community. I will forever embrace the opportunity to uplift all stakeholders of our school community so that all of our students will be adequately prepared for their next endeavors in life. My heart is filled with gratitude to be able to give back to my community."  Shannon received her Associate’s from Vance Granville Community College, continuing on with her undergraduate from East Carolina University and graduate degree from High Point University. She is currently working on her doctorate at Liberty University.


 Beginning Teacher of the Year

BT of the year

The 2020-2021 Beginning Teacher of the Year is Sheneika Campbell of Vance County Middle School, where she teaches 7th grade English Language Arts. Ms. Campbell has been with Vance County Schools for 3 years, but been in education for 12 years. Originally from Montego Bay, Jamaica earning her undergraduate and graduate degree from the University of the West Indies. She shared, “I am a passionate educator who has been called to this profession to effect positive changes and advance the welfare of all in my reach. I am honored and humbled to be recognized as BT for the district. This award has ignited an even stronger commitment to inspire, motivate, and serve the scholars of VCS.”


 Principal of the Year

Principal of the Year

The 2020-2021 Principal of the Year is Mrs. Stephanie Ayscue. Mrs. Ayscue is currently the principal of Advance Academy with 20 years in education. A native of Toledo, Ohio, Stephanie earned her undergraduate degree from Lourdes University, graduate degree from Western Carolina University and Ed.S from Liberty University. She is currently working on her doctorate degree from Liberty University. Stephanie expressed, “love and relationships are essential.”Dalai Lama states, "When educating the minds of our youth, we must not forget their hearts." “That is what we do at Advance Academy and what I have always tried to do at every school I have been blessed to be part of.” 


 Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year

VCS Teacher

The 2020-2021 Teacher of the Year is Sara Lilley, 3rd grade teacher at Clarke Elementary School. Sara shared, “I’m blessed to work with such a wonderful group of educators.  It is quite an honor to receive such a distinction when I consider the talent, skill, and experience that daily surrounds me.” Sara is in her 11th year teaching, all with Vance County Schools at Clarke Elementary. Ms. Lilley, originally from Elizabeth City, NC, received her undergraduate degree from Campbell University and her graduate degree from NC State University. 


Principal of the Year Stephanie Ayscue and Teacher of the Year Sara Lilley will now move forward in competing for the regional titles.  The North Carolina State Principal of the Year and Teacher of the Year will be announced in the spring of 2021 and selected from the regional winners across the state.