Return to Headlines

VCS Honors 14 Associates with Vanceformation Awards

gregory       avant

Sylvia Gregory, third from left                                   Teresa Avant, third from left

kirkland       perry

Lori Kirkland, center                                                   Pamela Perry, second from left


Vance County Schools honored 14 employees for going above and beyond the responsibilities of their normal duties in their support for students and colleagues as recipients of Vanceformation lapel pins for the first recognition period of the school year on November 7 at a breakfast held at the Golden Corral in Henderson.


Each school year, the school system honors outstanding employees quarterly with the Vanceformation awards for their commitments to rethink, reform, reimagine and renew efforts to provide the best possible education to students in our local schools.


Superintendent Anthony Jackson presented each of the award recipients with their Vanceformation lapel pin. He was assisted in the presentations by Dr. Trixie Brooks and Jennifer Bennett, both assistant superintendents with the school system.


Award recipients were recognized individually with the colleagues who nominated them and their principals joining in the award presentations and providing words of praise for the employees' amazing efforts.


Those honored with Vanceformation awards included:

  • Sylvia Gregory of L.B. Yancey Elementary School (nominated by Sharita Jones)
  • Teresa Avant of School Nutrition at E.O. Young, Jr. Elementary (nominated by Reginald Shearin)
  • Pamela Perry of Vance County Middle School (nominated by Antoine Hargrove)
  • Mcshell Edmonds of Vance County High School (nominated by Alex Parsons)
  • Dr. Jennifer Carraway of Clarke Elementary School (nominated by Connie Krupa)
  • Natasha Rubin of Aycock Elementary School (nominated by Lindsey Breedlove)
  • Lori Kirkland of E.O. Young, Jr. Elementary School (nominated by Marylaura McKoon)
  • Letitia Fields of Zeb Vance Elementary School (nominated by Arnetra Terry)
  • Novlyn Sweeney of Early College High School (nominated by Kerry Morrison)
  • Rosa Bullock of E.M. Rollins Elementary School (nominated by Stephanie Alston)
  • Cassandra Evans of New Hope Elementary School (nominated by Dr. Harold Thompson, Jr.)
  • Lori Askew, a Data Manager at the Administrative Services Center (nominated by Diana McCann)
  • Alfreda Murphy of Carver Elementary School (nominated by Debbie McCune)
  • Sharonda Bullock Morton of Dabney Elementary School (nominated by Dr. Michael Putney) 

edmonds       carraway

Mcshell Edmonds, third from left                               Dr. Jennifer Carraway, center

natasha       letitia

Natasha Rubin, third from left                                    Letitia Fields, center

novlyn       rosa

Novlyn Sweeney, third from right                               Rosa Bullock, center

cassandra       lori

Cassandra Evans, second from right                            Lori Askew, center

alfreda       sharonda

Alfreda Murphy, center                                                  Sharonda Bullock Morton, center