Return to Headlines

Outstanding Educators Complete TEI Program


The Vance County Teacher Executive Institute graduates for 2018-2019 include,

from left, Jessica Ayscue, Tammy Barrow, Pat Hughes, Sherrie Evans-Bailey,

Oscar Suarez, Patricia Harris, Jhanielle Downer, Davia Johnson, Cherie Dixon,

Taylor Evans, Kristy Martin, Kimberly Holtzmann, Vanessa Davis, Christine

Francis and Angela Cusaac.



An outstanding group of 15 educators with Vance County Schools were honored during the evening of March 28, for their successful completion of the Vance County Teacher Executive Institute (TEI) program for the 2018-2019 school year.


They were each presented framed certificates for completion of the program.


An audience that included the educators' special guests and each of their principals gathered to recognize their achievements.


Those educators honored included: Angela Cusaac of Vance County High School and the school system's Teacher of the Year; Christine Francis of Vance County High School; Davia Johnson of Vance County Middle School; Sherrie Evans-Bailey of AdVance Academy; Oscar Suarez of Early College High School; Tammy Barrow of STEM Early High School; Jessica Ayscue of Aycock Elementary School; Patricia Harris of Carver Elementary School; Kristy Martin of Clarke Elementary School; Pat Hughes of E.O. Young, Jr. Elementary School; Cherie Dixon of L.B. Yancey Elementary School; Taylor Evans of New Hope Elementary School; Jhaneille Downer of Pinkston Street Elementary School; Kimberly Holtzmann of Dabney Elementary School; and Vanessa Davis of Zeb Vance Elementary School.


Katie Eddings, a teacher at Lee County High School and the current N.C. North Central Region Teacher of the Year, was the featured speaker for the event. Eddings talked with the honored educators and guests about her passion for teaching and urged them all to focus on developing positive relationship with students. She also asked them to use their commitment to children to push for positive changes in public education and our society today.


The Vance County Teacher Executive Institute has been offered to local public school educators since 1993. The program is presented each year by the Vance County Public School Foundation and the Henderson-Vance Chamber of Commerce. Vance County Schools is a sponsor and partner for the program. TEI is a professional development program for public school teachers, counselors and media specialists. It is designed to bring local educators and business leaders together to form strong relationships, so that they can work together for the betterment of our students and future leaders.