Return to Headlines

Vance County Schools Named National Beta Club District of Distinction!

Vance County Schools Named National Beta District of Distinction

Henderson, North Carolina – National Beta is proud to announce Vance County Schools as a 2020-2021 National District of Distinction for the third consecutive year. This award is given to those deserving districts who offer National Beta in all schools in their district, and who induct qualifying students in all eligible grades (4‐12). Vance County Schools is one of only 24 districts to receive this award nationwide.


Through the exceptional efforts of VCS Superintendent, Dr. Anthony Jackson, district Beta Club coordinator, Andrew Markoch, school sponsors and deserving Beta members, Vance County Schools has flourished since the district’s initial Beta charter. This national award speaks highly of our district’s commitment to academic excellence, leadership development and service involvement, and illustrates their dedication to preparing students for college and career readiness. The students in their district understand the importance of these qualities and exemplify the Beta motto, Let Us Lead by Serving Others.


A School of Merit is designated if the school has members in every eligible grade; every one of our schools received this designation. Beta Club advisers in our schools play a major role in the success of the program and recognition of eligible students. Those advisers include:


  • Kim Burton of Aycock Elementary School
  • Teresa Hicks of Carver Elementary School
  • Cheryl Cook-Chavis of Clarke Elementary School
  • Joy Herndon of Dabney Elementary School
  • Marian Faulkner of E.O. Young Elementary School
  • Veronica Young of E.M. Rollins Elementary School
  • Sharita Jones of L.B. Yancey Elementary School
  • Cathy Oswald of New Hope Elementary School
  • Yolande Dixon of Pinkston Elementary School
  • C’Monee Wilkins of Zeb Vance Elementary School
  • Gradesa Lockhart of STEM Early High School
  • Vicki Anne Fullwood of Vance County Early College High School
  • Sandra Williams-McGlone of Vance County Middle School
  • Bobbi Parks of Vance County High School
  • Chameka Williams of Vance Virtual Village 


Award recipients received a National Beta District of Distinction award to proudly display at their district office. In addition, National Beta District of Distinction principals received a plaque to display at their school.

About National Beta: National Beta is the largest independent, non-profit, educational youth organization in America. Since its beginnings in 1934, National Beta has been committed to providing students with a positive experience in a supportive manner in grades 4-12. The organization recognizes outstanding achievement, promotes character and social responsibility, encourages service involvement to school and community, and fosters leadership skills.

For more information about National Beta, visit