Return to Headlines

Vance County Schools: Leadership Changes for 2022-2023

Vance County Schools: Leadership Changes for 2022-2023

When students head back to class for the 2022-2023 school year, there will be several new faces welcoming them within the schools across Vance County Schools!  Dr. Cindy Bennett shared, “We are excited to provide opportunities for staff to demonstrate their leadership and overall knowledge. I look forward to great things from our new team members and our district will continue to support each of them in their new roles.” Vance County Schools is excited to announce the following new leadership changes: 

Dr. Jacqueline Batchelor-Crosson

Dr. Jacqueline Batchelor-CrossonDr. Jacqueline Batchelor-Crosson will join the District Office administration as the Director of Federal Programs. Most recently she served as Principal at Pinkston Street Elementary and was the 2021-2022 District Principal of the Year. Dr. Crosson started her career in the   classroom at Pinkston Street Elementary as a teacher. She received her undergraduate degree from Fayetteville State University and her Masters and Doctorate from the University of Phoenix. “I am extremely excited about the opportunity to lead in a new capacity for the upcoming school year”, shared Crosson. “I am eager to advance in skill set as well as extend my reach as we continue to provide high quality learning and support for all students in Vance County.”


Stephanie Alston

Stephanie AlstonStephanie Alston will serve as the Student and Behavioral Health Interventionist. This position is new as an investment of extra support for a high priority area. Alston joined Vance County Schools in 2016 as a Principal at EM Rollins Elementary and later Carver Elementary. Ms. Alston has 22 years of educational experience. Alston completed her Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and her Masters in School Leadership and Supervision from East Carolina University. She shared, “I am excited to serve the students and community in a new capacity.”



Regina Miles

Regina MilesRegina Miles has been named Principal of Carver Elementary School. She has served as the Assistant Principal at Zeb Vance Elementary School and Clarke Elementary School. Her educational career began as a Teachers Assistant and Bus Driver at Dabney Elementary and then became a teacher at Carver Elementary. Miles was the 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year for Carver Elementary and was the 2021-2022 Vance County Assistant Principal of the Year. Miles is a graduate of East Carolina University, where she earned her Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education K-6. Miles also earned her Master of Curriculum and Instruction from Grand Canyon University, and Master of Administration Education from North Carolina State University. Miles shared, “I am excited to return to the school in which I taught for five years. I am looking forward to working with the students, staff, parents and the community leaders. As a leader in VCS, this is a perfect opportunity for us to come together as a team to assure our students are excelling not only academically, but socially and emotionally as well.” 

 Joy Suther

Joy SutherJoy Suther has been named Principal of Zeb Vance Elementary School, following the retirement of Dr. John Hargrove. For the last 8 years, Suther has served as Assistant Principal at Dabney Elementary.  Prior to that she taught at EM Rollins Elementary, Aycock Elementary and Zeb Vance Elementary.    Suther is a graduate of Meredith College, where she earned her Bachelor of Science in Child Development and earned her Master of School Administration from North Carolina State University. She is also Nationally Board Certified. She resides in Henderson with her husband John and their two children. She shared, “I am so excited about this new opportunity to lead Zeb Vance into the new school year. Zeb Vance has amazing faculty and staff who make students' success their priority everyday. I look forward to working alongside these fantastic individuals and creating amazing experiences for our students.”

Canecca Mayes

Canneca MayesCanecca Mayes has been named the Principal of Pinkston Street Elementary School. She most recently has served as Assistant Principal and AVID Coordinator for Vance County Middle School. Mayes' education began as a teacher where she has served in Warren, Guilford and Vance Counties. Her career has included additional roles including Instructional Specialist, Smart Start Program Facilitator, PBIS Coordinator and Director of College Services and GEAR UP. Mayes earned her Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education from Bennett College and her Master in School Administration and her Advance Level of Educational Leadership from North Carolina State University. Mayes shared, “Helping students develop a love for learning is a continuous process. We will continue to embrace innovation, motivation and creativity. Meeting students where they are and diligently helping them grow to new levels of greatness is our charge.” 


Michael Brown, Jr.

Michael Brown Jr. Michael Brown, Jr. has been named the Principal of Clarke Elementary School, following the retirement of Heddie Somerville. Brown most recently served as the Assistant Principal at UNCG Moss Street Partnership School in Reidsville, NC. Prior to that, he has served in Chapel-Hill Carrboro City Schools and Durham County Public Schools. He began his career in education with Alamance-Burlington Schools as a middle school science and social studies teacher. Brown earned his Bachelor of Arts in Middle Grades Education and his Masters of School Administration from North Carolina Central University. He is currently working on his Doctor of Education from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He shared, “I am extremely humbled and excited to be selected as the new principal at Clarke Elementary School. I am looking forward to building relationships with all stakeholders and continuing the great work for the entire Bulldog community.”


Official Press Release