Return to Headlines

Vance County Schools Celebrates Student Spotlight Recipients

Vance County Schools Celebrates Student Spotlight Recipients

On May 10, Vance County Schools hosted the Student Spotlight Recognition Banquet, where 16 students were acknowledged for their positive attitude, work ethic, leadership and overall character. 

VCS Superintendent Dr. Cindy Bennett, along with members of the Board of Education, District Leadership and the students’ families were present to congratulate the 2022-2023 Student Spotlight recipients, for their achievements. STEM Early High School Principal and 2022 VCS Principal of the Year, Edward Ortega, served as the keynote speaker and provided words of advice for the young scholars. 

Students were presented with a certificate and a picture from the Student Spotlight trip by Kellen Holtzman, Editor of the Daily Dispatch; Dr. Abidan Shah, President of the Vance County Public School Foundation;, Dr. Cindy Bennett, VCS Superintendent; and Mrs. Gloria J. White, Chair of the VCS Board of Education. 

The Student Spotlight recipients also participated in an end-of-the-year field trip to Experience Raleigh on May 4th. Students and their families took a day trip to Raleigh, NC, visiting the N.C. Museum of History, the N.C. Museum of Natural Sciences, the N.C. Legislative Building & the N.C. Executive Mansion. While visiting the N.C. Legislative Building, students and their families had the opportunity to meet Representative Frank Sossamon. Representative Sossamon represents Vance County in the N.C. House of Representatives. 

The 2022-2023 Student Spotlight recipients are: 

Ayock Elementary - Emmy Isaak,  4th Grade  

Carver Elementary - Mariah Royster, 5th Grade 

Clarke Elementary - Rihanna Dortch, 2nd Grade 

Dabney Elementary - Amiyah Durham, 3rd Grade 

E.M. Rollins STEAM Academy -Michael Switzer, 4th Grade 

E.O. Young Elementary - Jayceon Wright, 2nd Grade 

L.B. Yancey Elementary - Mariah Hawkins Hernandez, 3rd Grade  

New Hope Elementary - Kamiya Hilliard, 5th Grade 

Pinkston St. Elementary - Yarely Mariano, 5th Grade

Zeb Vance Elementary - Khaden Henderson, 4th Grade 

AdVance Academy - Jonathon Thompson, 12th Grade  

STEM Early High - Eyad Moshen Hauter, 8th Grade

Vance County High - Jeffrey Ayscue, 12th Grade

Vance County Middle - Destiny Timberlake, 8th Grade

Vance County Early College - Macy Ray Herritt, 11th Grade

Vance Virtual Village Academy - Derrick Foster, 11th Grade

Vance County Schools would like to thank MAKO Medical, PRIM Residential Properties & Rentals, The Daily Dispatch and the Vance County Public School Foundation for sponsoring the Student Spotlight program. This could not have been possible without your support!