Return to Headlines

The Tailored Assistant Principals' Symposium Recognition Ceremony

The Tailored Assistant Principals’ Symposium Recognition Ceremony was held on May 23rd at 5:30pm in The Atrium at The Center for Innovation. The dinner celebrates the Collective Impact Projects that the Assistant Principals (APs) have worked on throughout the 2022-2023 school year. APs were split into two teams, each focusing on a different initiative, determined by the team, they selected Parent Engagement and Literacy. 

Collective Impact Team 1: Get Involved

On Wednesday, May 24th, 2023, the Family and Community Engagement team will host a family engagement event at The Center for Innovation. The event will allow parents to experience the opportunities available to students at The Center for Innovation, as well as receive End of Grade (EOG) Testing support. The team's first family engagement night took place at  L.B. Yancey Elementary School, bringing a great turnout. 

Collective Impact Team 2: Partners in Literacy 

On Wednesday, June 7, 2023 at 9:00 a.m., there will be a grand reveal of a new book vending machine at The Center for Innovation. The book vending machine was purchased by The Partners in Literacy team to ensure that all students had access to a variety of books at a centralized location. The books will be replenished through community partnerships.

We would like to congratulate all of the Assistant Principals for completing The Tailored Assistant Principals’ Symposium: 

Donald Johnson, Aycock Elementary 

Erica Evans, Carver Elementary 

Dr. C’Monee Wilkins, Clarke Elementary 

Facetia Branch, Dabney Elementary 

Juliet Black-Jasnosz, E.O. Young Elementary School

Donyell McLean, E.M. Rollins Elementary School

Tisha Cobb-Young, E.M. Rollins Elementary School

Dr. Jeffrey Batten, Pinkston Street Elementary School

Razvan Tegean, L.B. Yancey Elementary School 

Dr. Harold Thompson, Zeb Vance Elementary School

Alice Hinson, STEM Early High School 

John Russick, Vance County Middle School

Dora Moldovan, Vance County Middle School

Desmond Thompson, Vance County Middle School

LaVonda Williams, Vance County Early College

McShell Edmonds, Vance County High School

Orlando Terry, Vance County High School

Patricia Richardson, Vance County High School

Angela Cusaac, Vance County High School

Official Announcement

Tailored AP Symposium