Return to Headlines

VCS Celebrates the 2023-2024 School Year at Convocation

VCS Celebrates the 2023-2024 School Year at Convocation

Vance County Schools’ staff gathered on August 22, 2023 at McGregor Hall for Convocation to celebrate the beginning of the 2023-2024 school year. This annual event brings staff from all 16 schools, transportation, maintenance and district office together. This year, the event included a warm welcome from community members as staff arrived, with the  Vance County High School cheerleaders, flag team  and drum line joining. Vance County High School student, Jessica Phan, performed the National Anthem, while the Junior Air Force ROTC presented the colors. Superintendent Dr. Cindy Bennett, the Vance County Schools’ Board of Education, the Henderson Optimist Club, and the Vance County Public School Foundation all shared messages and celebrated VCS educators. 

Pinkston Street Elementary was presented the Optimist Mini-Grant for the 2023-2024 school year. Each school shared a showcase video, with Vance County Middle School taking home the Best Video honor. Throughout the event, school spirit filled the air; however, Clarke Elementary took home the spirit award!


2023-24 LEAP Grant Recipients  

The Vance County Public School Foundation (VCSPF) awarded Learning that Extends Actual Performance (LEAP) grants to eight exceptional Vance County Schools teachers. The LEAP grants awarded this year align with the core pillars of Vance County Schools’ strategic plan. These projects not only demonstrate our dedication to equity and inclusion, but also emphasize sustaining a high-performance culture, foster innovation, and nurture experiential learning opportunities for students. This year’s LEAP Grant recipients are: 


LEAP Into Learning Stations: Joannie Aldridge, Vance County High

Clarke’s MakerSpace:  Launtia Dallas, Clarke Elementary 

The Creative Minds Program: Taylor Evans, LB Yancey Elementary

Numbers Alive - Math Stackers: Natasha Rubin, Aycock Elementary  

Sensory Pathways:  Sarah Jeffries, Aycock Elementary

Enhancing Scientific Learning Through Hydroponics: Vicki-Ann Fullwood & Angelique Baganan, Vance County Early College High School 

9-1-1 Monitor Stands: Francis Brown, Vance County High School

Vance County Schools applauds these teachers for their dedication to shaping the future of education and for their commitment to the advancement of every student in Vance County Schools.

The Vance County Public School Foundation (VCPSF)

The VCPSF has been dedicated to supporting educational excellence within Vance County Schools since 1988. Through various initiatives, programs and grants, we strive to empower educators, fostering an environment of innovation, inclusion and academic growth, through valuable financial resources and unwavering support to educators.