Return to Headlines

Vance County Schools Announces Partnerships of the Year

June 26, 2020  

Vance County Schools Recognizes Partnerships of the Year


Vance County Schools strives to build community and business partnerships. These individuals, organizations and businesses make an impact on our students, schools and district as a whole. We are grateful for each and every one of them. Each school celebrates their top partnership, focusing on impact. This year, the following  were recognized:


Advance Academy - Gang Free

Aycock Elementary - Craig Compton

Carver Elementary- Cokesbury United Methodist Church

Clarke Elementary - Debra Jiggitts

Dabney Elementary - Turning Point, CDC, Inc.

Early College High - Vance Granville Community College

EM Rollins Elementary - Clearview Baptist Church

EO Young Elementary - Flat Rock United Methodist Church

LB Yancey Elementary - Fearldine Simmons

New Hope Elementary - Woodsworth Baptist Church

Pinkston St. Elementary - Holy Temple Church

STEM Early High - Dr. Meg Blanchard & Katie McCance

Vance County High - AtwoZ Bonds

Vance County Middle - The City Ministries

Zeb Vance Elementary - Plank Chapel 

A district committee reviews all of the school partnerships and awards one as the District Partnership of the Year. This year, the recipient is Woodsworth Baptist Church for their partnership with New Hope Elementary. Pastor Glendora Hargrove’s church and members have assisted in exposing students to the arts through generous contributions. Their efforts provided opportunities for every student to attend a show at McGregor Hall.  Additionally, a new sound system for assemblies and performances was also donated by the church. The sound system was given in honor of Pastor Hargrove’s two granddaughters, who passed away this year. Even when she has experienced much loss, the pastor and her church continue to find ways to give back. Letitia Fields, Principal at New Hope Elementary, presented Pastor Glendora Hargrove with the District Partnership of the Year award on June 26.  

Each year, Vance County Schools awards the Shining Moment in Education to a business or community partner working to make an impact on a larger scale. This year, the 2020 recipient is Henderson Toyota for their ongoing support of our Vance County Teacher of the Year car lease. In coordination with the Henderson Toyota General Manager, Vance County Schools has been able to award the District Teacher of the Year a one-year lease, allowing them to showcase their title on the car. This is an honor and continues to build a strong partnership. Dr. Anthony Jackson, Superintendent, along with Board of Education Chair, Ed Wilson, presented General Manager Joe Coffey with the award on June 3. We look forward to continuing our partnership with Toyota. 

Business partnerships, community agencies and individuals continue to be an intricate part of our success. We are grateful for each of them and look forward to their continued support in the coming years. 



District Partnership of the Year

Shining Moment Award